Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

Best meal in ages

“We dined in the restaurant after years since my last visit. The service was brilliant and the food was outstanding just like I remember. I had the pigeon breast starter, pork loin main and chocolate fondant for pudding and I couldn’t fault a single element! The best meal I’ve had in ages! ”

November 2022

Customer comes first!

“A real gem on the edge of Northampton. On 3 recent business trips to Northants, I stayed locally at The Hopping Hare. From first arrival, David and his team were friendly and welcoming, customer care their priority. Food - excellent. Rooms - comfy. Very difficult to find fault.”

November 2022

Iain Liddon

“I wanted to say thanks for the absolutely lovely Sunday lunch that I had had today with my family. Both the service and food were excellent. Also, having enquired about purchasing one of your pint glasses, to be offered several from a selection that were to be disposed of, was an unexpected treat! (yes, I'm just sad!) 'Thank you'!”

November 2022

Great food

“Nice pub, nice staff, good ambiance, no loud music, plenty of space, the food was really nice, well prepared and presented, good choice on the menu, not to much as to get bogged down just the right amount to peruse over. Reasonably priced to. I'd go back again.”

November 2022

Thank you for the amazing service we received.

“ Rosie, Sarah and Lynne were super professional, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel contributed to making our wedding perfect. Thanks again Lorraine & Simon”

October 2022

Hopping Good Hotel

“We had a good 2 night stay in September to catch up with old school friends from 50+ Years ago. The twin room we had at the top of the hotel was good, (quite a few stairs to get to it), with all the necessary items to make it comfortable. The food at the restaurant was very nice with a good choice and good service. The breakfasts was also very good. A special thanks to all the staff for making the stay enjoyable. The hotel had a good sized parking area in a good location, a couple of miles out of town with easy access to the surrounding areas. We give it a good recommendation.”

October 2022

First class

“Came to Northampton with my elderly mum, to meet an old friend that she hadn't seen for over 20 years. After a long drive, the staff were welcoming. Although we had been given a double room and not a twin room, this was rectified in a few minutes once I reported the issue. The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a ground floor disabled access room that was well equipped. Dinner was excellent, good service and delicious food. Portion size was perfect. A lovely hotel with excellent facilities and service. Definitely recommend it to other visitors to Northampton”

October 2022

Thumbs up all round

“Beautiful hotel. We booked here as my husband was going on a driving experience in sywell the next day. Smooth check-in, lovely room and the whole place very clean throughout. We had our evening meal here too. Fabulous foods in fact we had 3 courses each which never happens. Breakfast the next day equally as good. Would stay here again most definitely.”

October 2022

Excellent meal and stay

“We stayed at the Hopping Hare for one night on our way back from a wedding. We arrived early evening and were quickly checked in to our room so we could change for the evening. The bar area is pleasant and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We had a couple of drinks before being shown to our table in the restaurant area. The restaurant has a nice 'feel' to it and there was a positive, buzzing atmosphere. Although the menu was quite small (it was a Sunday evening) there is still plenty of choice and the quality of the food that arrived was outstanding, both dishes being perfectly cooked and well presented. Although not the most modern design, our room was clean and had all of the amenities you need for a good night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning continued the quality of the night before, with friendly and efficient staff and a high quality cooked-to-order breakfast. Overall our stay couldn't be better and we'd certainly choose the Hopping Hare again if we are ever in the Northampton area. Thanks very much to all the staff.”

October 2022

Fabulous restaurant with rooms

“This is a 20 bed hotel/restaurant with rooms and two AA rosettes, fully justified by the standard of food in the restaurant. Welcoming and helpful staff in addition to very comfortable and spacious rooms. A great place to break a long journey south and plenty of interesting places nearby, especially National Trust, to visit. Highly recommended and would stay here again on a similar journey.”

September 2022

Nice cosy room and great food

“Nice hotel for a nights stay. Clean room with a brilliant air conditioning unit. Comfy bed. Evening meal was fantastic and lovely breakfast as well. Nice friendly staff, very helpful and well mannered. Recomended for a couple.”

September 2022

Well managed

“Well run family hotel. Lovely caring staff - special thank to Sarah. Nice room and brilliant evening meal and breakfast. I even had a bit of pea shoot on my scrambled egg - lovely touch. The internal painting and decorating is particularly impressive. Ideally could do with air conditioning. Hasta la vista”

August 2022

Very good

“Our 2nd time staying at The Hopping Hare, best things :- 1. FOOD - Really really good. 2. Extremely clean 3. Really good spacious bathroom. 4. Staff very efficient. Will not mention the hethe too much over the weekend but the very modern fan was appreciated.”

August 2022

Excellent Choice

“We were in Northampton for just one night before returning to Cheshire. I chose this place after researching local hotel options on Tripadvisor and being impressed by the reviews. Very pleased to confirm that the positive reviews are spot on, friendly staff, a clean and pleasant room, superb food and excellent service. I was expecting to enjoy our experience at The Hopping Hare and we certainly did. Many thanks to all of the staff, I have no hesitation in recommending this place to others, if and when we are next in the Northampton area we will not consider staying anywhere else.”

August 2022

Such a good weekend

“Well I can honestly say this place is amazing. Rooms spotless and big enough. Bed comfortable. Venue is spotlessly clean and so roomy. Food out of this world. Definitely cooked by a chef not a cook. All of us who ate commented on how good all dishes were from starters to mains and puddings. Great choice drinks and draft beers. Breakfast yummy. Ample parking and string wifi. Thanks to the staff for being friendly, helpful and making it such an enjoyable stay”

July 2022

What a fabulous place

“We stayed the night and had dinner at the Hare and couldn't fault it for anything. We had room 9 which is a lovely king size double with bath and shower, much bigger than we expected. We were made very welcome and had an amazing meal in the restaurant where they handled extremely well the fact they had a birthday party to cater for as well. A very well run place and highly recommended.”

July 2022

Eveningmeal

“We had a fabulous meal thus evening, beautifully presented and wonderful flavours would recommend it highly”

July 2022

Dinner for two

“We popped in for a meal on Saturday night. Never been before but definitely will return. Really nice environment. Stylish bar. Varied menu and drinks list. We had the bread and oil to share then the sirloin steak and the duo of beef. All the food was really tasty and plentiful with attentive staff. Highly recommend”

July 2022

Amazing from Start to Finish!

“Amazing food,amazing service...A perfect dining experience.Come here for every special occasion.A big thank you to the lovely Sarah for making my special request happen and also to the lovely Janet for executing it....You are both such assets to this establishment.Not forgetting the chef/kitchen team (often forgotten)....Food quality and presentation,beautiful.(You get what you pay for) Keep doing what you do so well. A very happy customer for sure ❤️.”

July 2022

Fabulous hotel and the food is amazing

“We stayed here for one night as we were going to see a comedian in the city. We were blown away by the cost, for the big room and bathroom, with a separate shower, nice decor, such good value including a cooked breakfast. The food was out of this world, they have a separate gluten free, diary free and vegan menus and delicious wine. Again really reasonable cost. I wished we lived nearer as this would somewhere we’d visit often. Staff were helpful too.”

July 2022