Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

Perfect Birthday celebration

“We arrived at lunchtime and shared the club sandwich which we loved. The chunky chips were delicious. And the feeling when we walked in was that this place is totally Covid secure - spaces our tables, sanitiser everywhere and the whole place seemed utterly spotless. Bedroom - spacious, v comfortable bed, well laid out and again utterly spotless. The best bit though was dinner. Friendly and prompt service and a menu that would have satisfied anyone. We went for .. Starters - Scotch egg (10/10 amazing) and hallumi salad (9/10 great combination of flavours) Mains - pan fried chicken breast with chorizo (10/10 amazing) and short rib of beef with the tastiest mashed potato I’ve ever had (9/10) Deserts - home made sticky toffee pudding (10/10 loved it) and cheese board (9/10) Wine list - extensive, we went for a Sauvignon with dinner, priced v fairly. We also enjoyed the various gins on offer. Service - prompt and friendly. Ambience - very nice, it was busy but again it felt very safe. Decor was kind of boutique hotel style, and so much more personal than a chain hotel. And finally - breakfast the next day didn’t disappoint. All freshly cooked to order, high quality bacon and sausages rather than the cheaper variety you sometimes get in hotels. It’s only £85 to stay here (20 bedrooms) and that includes breakfast. And the dinner menu was really well priced given the quality. Starters approx £7 and mains approx £15. Highly recommended”

September 2020

Wonderful staff

“we were a last minute booking due to a car breakdown. The staff were super helpful on booking and arrivals. The flat was a good size and perfect for a family. Sarah who was on duty in the morning was amazing. She made us feel very welcome and went out of her way to help us. Delicious breakfast too. Highly recommended”

September 2020

Great value

“Lovely bedroom, beautiful food and excellent service and all for a very reasonable price. We only stayed for one night but we'll definitely be back. Dinner was lovely. The scotch egg starter in particular is not to be missed. And the smoked salmon and scrambled egg breakfast lived up to the evening meal too. But best of all was the service in the restaurant, which was extremely efficient and very friendly.”

August 2020

Meeting family travelling through Northampton

“A great place for a leisurely and very tasty lunch - our family were travelling in a camper van RV, and the car park was easily able to take it. Staff were attentive and friendly, and the food was fresh, hot, tasty - all the good things you expect. Well managed in this strange world we are currently experiencing. Many thanks.”

August 2020

Sunday lunch after lockdown

“First Sunday lunch out since lockdown. All beautifully set out and organised. Felt very safe. Food great as always. Good to see the staff again. Thank you we had a lovely time.”

July 2020

Perfect Dining Experience

“We dined at The Hopping Hare on the night of reopening due to covid19 and we had the best dining experience. All the staff were super friendly and the food was delicious! Social distancing measures were in place to make everyone feel comfortable. Just want to say thank you to all the staff and special compliments to the chef!”

July 2020

Fabulous Place

“This is truly a prime example of exceptional food and service. Our waiter was so professional and helpful I actually said to him that his service was outstanding. We had Sunday lunch and it was mouthwatering. Highly recommend.”

February 2020

Nice overnight stay

“Stayed overnight in a room on the first floor at the front and found it to be a cosy and comfortable with everything needed including a comfy bed, good bed linen, fluffy towels and complimentary water. Booked a meal in the restaurant on the evening we had the Pork and the Sea bass which was tasty, the service was also good. The following morning we had breakfast included in the room rate which was excellent, you could help yourself to coffee/juice and cereal and then order anything you wanted from a menu, well presented and good service. Overall it was excellent value for money”

February 2020

Fine dining an a bit of style without the price

“Excellent venue. Relaxed pleasant atmosphere with superb food at really affordable prices. If you wish for an even more relaxed atmosphere then there is the bar area restaurant. The staff are all very welcoming and knowledgable. For all the above reasons we remain regular customers”

January 2020

Fresh & Delicious

“Really enjoyed ! Freshly cooked and child friendly. Nice atmosphere. First time and I would comeagain visit again”

January 2020

Lunchtime Visit

“Another great meal at one of our favourite restaurants in Northampton. The staff are welcoming and knowledgable and provide an excellent service. We can’t fault the menu having tried a range of their starters, mains and desserts. Definitely going back again soon!”

January 2020

Great food

“We stopped off at the hopping hare for lunch on the strength of the trip advisor reviews, they were spot on! 5 star food in a first class pub, we had smoked salmon & prawn open sandwich on beetroot bread, Would highly recommend. We will definitely return if in the area again”

December 2019

Our first visit.

“We visited with 2 friends on Sat 7/12/19 and as soon as we walked in the atmosphere felt good, staff at the bar very friendly and helpful. We then went into the restaurant for our meal, we all chose to eat from the festive menu and each of us thoroughly enjoyed every course. The food was lovely and the main courses were really hot when served. The service was excellent and the staff attentive and friendly. Well done ! we will be back”

December 2019

Supurb!

“Booked here to meet friends as it was half way between us and them, and so glad we did! Lovely comfortable modern rooms,with a huge bed, and excellent breakfast. We also had a meal in the hotel restaurant, which was lovely. Great choice of quality food, and great service considering how busy they were. Highly recommend!”

November 2019

Exceptional!

“Arrived early but no problem to the waitresd.. Once seated chose lovely wine and starters...pork belly oh my anazing...the mushroom and blue cheese tart..also amaze balls. Quality and presentation just spot on...clean plates all round Main of pork loin...yum to the extreme...duck breast..just tasty to the ultimate Pudding...share the lemon tart with mango sorbet....what a great tasting pud...like lemon merangue with a sorbet that is so Ronseal....loved the whole evening.. Very special Words just not enough.. Full and content Thank you to all.....”

November 2019

Return Visit

“Had the most delicious meal here last night - staff were on the ball BUT - I don't know who the chef was for our different choices - it was ALL absolutely cooked to perfection, the presentation was top notch and we will be back, very soon! Well done to all.”

November 2019

Long Term Business

“This is a small family run business where I stayed over a 20 month period whilst working in the area, making and changing reservations frequently which were kindly sorted by the staff. The owners and staff are all very friendly and efficient, both with the rooms and the restaurant / bar. Food is excellent - far better quality than the average pub and with a wide range of choices - and the atmosphere is always good. Excellent for a summer visit when the outside is opened up and you can enjoy the food, drink and company in some welcome sunshine. In the winter there is a real fire to coy up to. Overall I wouldn't pick anywhere else to stay in Northampton - it's just too good!”

November 2019

Excellent on all levels

“Just returned from an impromptu dinner that was excellent on all levels! Service 100% attentive. Menu choices suited all preferences. My husband who is not a ‘roast dinner’ fan was swayed by the Treacle coated sirloin of beef which he said was absolutely delicious. Lamb loin and Roast Pork choices equally tasty and all beautifully presented with perfectly cooked seasonal veggies. Couldn’t resist the desserts either and my personal favourite was actually vegan. Dark chocolate delice Griottine cherries & kirch with a berry sorbet. Poached pears and a white chocolate delice with a raspberry sorbet.. so scummy. Cannot fault a thing, Compliments to the chef and front of house. Thank you and we will be back!”

November 2019

Sunday Lunch

“This is a very smart inn and hotel with a great atmosphere and well designed. We had a table for Sunday lunch and the food was excellent together with very friendly efficient service. The whole restaurant is very smartly laid out as I’d the rest of the establishment. It is very much fine dining as it is not cheap, but still very enjoyable. We stayed for 4 hours which seemed to pass in a flash and there was no pressure to leave. The table service was excellent and the quality of the food and presentation was excellent”

November 2019

Comfortable stay, good food

“We had an overnight stay for a wedding the following day. It’s a very comfortable pub, lots of sofas and armchairs to relax in - we arrived about 4.30 and check in was quick & efficient. Our room had a desk with tea & coffee making facilities, comfortable double bed, armchair, wardrobe with ironing board, iron, hairdryer, spacious en-suite complete with shampoo/ shower gel/moisturiser. We had booked a table for dinner at 7.30 but were allowed to eat earlier. I had the fixed price menu - a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains & 2 desserts - I think it was £18.50 for 2 courses & I had butternut squash soup, followed by Turbot with mussels on a bed of lentils, delicious. Hubby had the a la carte - pigeon, followed by pork loin & pork belly, again very good. The service was excellent, friendly & knowledgeable. Couldn’t fault it. Breakfast was also very good (other than the filter coffee). Help yourself to tea/coffee/juice & cereals, followed by about 6 cooked options. The bacon was particularly tasty. We very much appreciated being granted a late check-out, as the wedding wasn’t until later, so after breakfast had a relaxing hour or so catching up on the newspapers before getting ready. Overall, a very nice stay & would return.”

November 2019