Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

Lunch

“I dont mind there - “find a table and order at the bar” places but if you want really good table service, a great lunch menu and a relaxing surrounding - go to the Hopping Hare in Northampton - the food is amazing with very friendly staff - definitely recommend this place - it also has plenty of parking :) ”

February 2019

Fantastic!

“Some of the best food Ive ever tasted, quirky dishes, beautifully presented, and flavours one cannot forget, see you again soon!”

February 2019

Nice Little Find!

“Stopped unplanned on a road trip for the evening and decided to dine. Had not booked but after a short wait they had a table for us. The menu sold us for dinner with interesting flavour combo’s. Went for the Beef with beef fat crumble and the Hake cooked in marmite butter. Well presented and great flavours. Shared the Chef’s Snicker for dessert which was a delight. Service was quick and not in your face which I liked. Will defiantly be planning another road trip soon!”

February 2019

Twice in a week!

“This might be one of my new favourite places. Everything cooked beautifully which as a chef is nice to go somewhere and just eat. The restaurant was busy and staff still attentive. Good choice of wines too.”

February 2019

Delicious Sunday evening meal

“Good value for a stylish meal. Modern decor and lighting. Well presented meal, delightful staff. Will come again.”

February 2019

Fabulous

“Had a wonderful meal at the Hopping Hare last night I had fillet of beef and cheeks and my partner had the hake fillet both cooked to perfection would definitely reccomend”

February 2019

Family meal/birthday

“I have been to the Hopping Hare many times over the last year, but this evening I met my family there for their first Hopping Hare meal. I noted tonight there was a new menu, which gave us lots of choice, so much choice it took a while to decide. Food was lovely, really flavoursome, hot, fresh with great service. I sense a change in Chef???? As pre Christmas food was becoming ?......a little bit errrrrm boring? HOWEVER tonight......fab food, refreshed menu - woop de woo. The service was attentive, without being intrusive and as always the ambiance suited. My families are real foodies & said they would be prepared to travel......a fair 50 min drive, to eat there again. Believe me, that is praise indeed!”

February 2019

A group of six (family and friends) overnight stay b and b after attending family funeral.

“After our return from the funeral everyone decided to freshen up and then meet in the bar for a few drinks. The selection of drinks was excellent and the service of the staff on duty during the evening could not be faulted.All bedrooms were found to be very clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu choice was very good and my choice of the "Full English" could not have been bettered. Even as we settled our accounts before we left the hotel, the morning staff who we had not previously met were just as friendly as their colleagues. We were all impressed with everything the "Hopping Hare" had to offer.”

February 2019

Sunday Lunch

“Visited this Sunday first time for about 2 years why we have left it so long excellent Sunday lunch two courses for £20 or three for £25 will definitely be returning”

January 2019

Pick of hotels in Northampton

“This hotel/pub/restaurant benefits hugely from NOT being a chain - so you feel you are getting a far more individual take on hospitality and service. If you don't need to be in the centre of town, this would be my pick of hotels in Northampton. I have stayed several times over the last 2 years - with a relatively small number of rooms, it's often fully booked in the week. Rooms have all been comfortable, clean and well-equipped. Being a popular pub/restaurant, it can be a little noisy in the evenings so requesting a room on the upper floors would be my recommendation. Breakfast is cooked to order (much better than a picked-over buffet) and the restaurant offers good food, fairly priced. You will need to get in your car/take a cab to eat anywhere else.”

January 2019

Beautiful fresh food sublimely prepared

“Dinner and breakfast served with polite friendly professionalism, sublime in cooking and presentation of the food. We left the table each time fully replete and having enjoyed each unrushed meal”

November 2018

Safe and Seated

“I need a disabled access and accessible room plus wet room ... all three present and available without fuss. I felt safe. The bedroom was large, spacious, comfortable and well-thought out. The wet room was fantastic and spacious with grab handles everywhere. The room was completely well appointed. It was the best hotel/restaurant that I have stayed at as a guest in the UK. The restaurant was fully booked, a large party was celebrating with Sunday lunch. We sat by the fire and talked. My brother and his wife joined us. The happy birthday group drifted away talking of the beautiful meal they had eaten. We were shown to our table and our expectations were heightened. We were not mistaken ... although some dishes had been sold out ...the remaining dishes pleased us all, the freshness, clarity and thought in the preparation was beautiful, the eating fabulous, the portions were ample. We were the noisy table, including the friendly staff in the banter. We apologised for the joyful meal. We chose four different dishes off the menu at each course; it was a wonderful evening with no dissension, much laughter and fantastic food. We all slept well, had breakfast which was fresh, clean tasting, plentiful and filling. We left went to inter my Mothers ashes. The staff at The Hopping Hare were all helpful and did not intrude or hover. In our difficult personal circumstances, the service was exemplary ... when visiting my Aunt and Uncle we shall book in again and again! As a teenager I used to socialise and drink in The Hopping Hill ...how it has changed!”

November 2018

2nd visit

“We choose here again as a spur of the moment and didnt book ,we came at lunch yet again,as a person with a severe fish allergy Im careful and as a executive head chef and a chef of the year finalist (many years ago in fact my ex head chef won it),the menu is small but for a reason we had the bread to start ,very nice ,the mains beautifully plated and hot not a massive plate full but you go for the experience Im sure you will get your third rosette ,see you again soon and many thanks to your chefs and your front of house team”

November 2018

Faultless family lunch

“Visited for lunch today for our anniversary with two small children in tow and had a wonderful lunch. From the moment we arrived and were given complementary glasses of fizz for our anniversary to the stunning food and perfect service - we couldn’t fault it. I ate off the set Sunday lunch menu and my husband off the main menu and neither of us had any complaints at all about portion sizes - there was definitely plenty of food. Feel very foolish that we’ve got such a wonderful restaurant on our doorstep and have never visited before! Already looking forward to coming back.”

November 2018

Hubby’s find...excellent!

“We stayed here overnight before visiting Althorp House, which is just a short drive away. As another reviewer said, please don’t be put off by the location. This is a gem of a hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room (5) was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed. I think that’s the first time my husband has managed to have a good nights sleep in a hotel! Roomy ensuite. Tray of tea and coffee in room with good quality biscuits...and bottled water, which you don’t get in lots of hotels. There is a lovely ambience in the bar. we didn’t eat in the restaurant because there was a special event in there, so we sat in the bar area and ordered from the bar menu. the food was excellent - particularly the treacle tart with ginger ice cream....the best I’ve eaten anywhere..so light!! Good wine, too. My husband and I both highly recommend this hotel. We would have liked to stay longer!”

October 2018

Fantastic

“After a phone call explaining I had a seafood alergy we booked for lunch , three menus to choose from and a lovely wine list the two gentle men who served us were excellent as was the food highly recommend to any one”

October 2018

What a Wonderful find

“Had to book this quite late for Silverstone classic as had previous hotel booking cancelled at the last minute So glad thisbplace is just wonderful Staff couldn't be more helpful or welcoming Nothing was too much trouble The room was clean and comfortable The food in the restaurant was superb Enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked for another visit”

September 2018

One of the comfiest sleeps ever!

“I stay in a lot of hotels, for both work and pleasure, and can honestly say this was the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel! The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The only bad comment was we were only give one large towel to share between us. A beautiful full English breakfast, toast and endless drinks set us up for the day, and I couldn’t fault a thing. We didn’t eat in the restaurant in the evening, but wish we had because the food smelt delicious! We will definitely be stay here again!”

September 2018

Wonderful

“I visited The Hopping Hare with my husband and two children only a few weeks ago. When we first arrived we had an incorrect room but this was fixed so quickly and we greatly appreciated the effort gone to by the staff member. As it was summer, it was hot and a couple of fans were provided - thank you. The room itself was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast for the mornings we were there was just as tasty. Good variety but REALLY yummy, especially the eggs. Was a bit hard to wake up before 9am to get downstairs to make it in time for breakfast. Most importantly, my daughter left a recently purchased toy in the room and Emily was wonderful. She found the toy and posted it halfway around the world to us. I am so grateful to her and the staff for finding the toy. Would recommend this place in a heartbeat.”

August 2018

Nice rooms, great restaurant.

“We stayed here for one night before going on to Silverstone for a club race day. We initially chose here because of the decent parking facilities but when we saw online they had a nice restaurant and read some of the reviews we were sold. Our room was number 10 on the second floor, it was during the heatwave and it was hot but two fans had thoughtfully been provided. The room was clean and good value. The highlight of our stay was the restaurant, our dinner was superb, the quality of the cooking came as a real surprise (in a good way). My wife and I both had the crab to start and the lamb to follow accompanied by a half of white and a very nice bottle of Cotes du Rhone. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The clientele seemed very nice also. We would definitely stay here again.”

August 2018