Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

Sunday Lunch

“Visited this Sunday first time for about 2 years why we have left it so long excellent Sunday lunch two courses for £20 or three for £25 will definitely be returning”

January 2019

Pick of hotels in Northampton

“This hotel/pub/restaurant benefits hugely from NOT being a chain - so you feel you are getting a far more individual take on hospitality and service. If you don't need to be in the centre of town, this would be my pick of hotels in Northampton. I have stayed several times over the last 2 years - with a relatively small number of rooms, it's often fully booked in the week. Rooms have all been comfortable, clean and well-equipped. Being a popular pub/restaurant, it can be a little noisy in the evenings so requesting a room on the upper floors would be my recommendation. Breakfast is cooked to order (much better than a picked-over buffet) and the restaurant offers good food, fairly priced. You will need to get in your car/take a cab to eat anywhere else.”

January 2019

Beautiful fresh food sublimely prepared

“Dinner and breakfast served with polite friendly professionalism, sublime in cooking and presentation of the food. We left the table each time fully replete and having enjoyed each unrushed meal”

November 2018

Safe and Seated

“I need a disabled access and accessible room plus wet room ... all three present and available without fuss. I felt safe. The bedroom was large, spacious, comfortable and well-thought out. The wet room was fantastic and spacious with grab handles everywhere. The room was completely well appointed. It was the best hotel/restaurant that I have stayed at as a guest in the UK. The restaurant was fully booked, a large party was celebrating with Sunday lunch. We sat by the fire and talked. My brother and his wife joined us. The happy birthday group drifted away talking of the beautiful meal they had eaten. We were shown to our table and our expectations were heightened. We were not mistaken ... although some dishes had been sold out ...the remaining dishes pleased us all, the freshness, clarity and thought in the preparation was beautiful, the eating fabulous, the portions were ample. We were the noisy table, including the friendly staff in the banter. We apologised for the joyful meal. We chose four different dishes off the menu at each course; it was a wonderful evening with no dissension, much laughter and fantastic food. We all slept well, had breakfast which was fresh, clean tasting, plentiful and filling. We left went to inter my Mothers ashes. The staff at The Hopping Hare were all helpful and did not intrude or hover. In our difficult personal circumstances, the service was exemplary ... when visiting my Aunt and Uncle we shall book in again and again! As a teenager I used to socialise and drink in The Hopping Hill ...how it has changed!”

November 2018

2nd visit

“We choose here again as a spur of the moment and didnt book ,we came at lunch yet again,as a person with a severe fish allergy Im careful and as a executive head chef and a chef of the year finalist (many years ago in fact my ex head chef won it),the menu is small but for a reason we had the bread to start ,very nice ,the mains beautifully plated and hot not a massive plate full but you go for the experience Im sure you will get your third rosette ,see you again soon and many thanks to your chefs and your front of house team”

November 2018

Faultless family lunch

“Visited for lunch today for our anniversary with two small children in tow and had a wonderful lunch. From the moment we arrived and were given complementary glasses of fizz for our anniversary to the stunning food and perfect service - we couldn’t fault it. I ate off the set Sunday lunch menu and my husband off the main menu and neither of us had any complaints at all about portion sizes - there was definitely plenty of food. Feel very foolish that we’ve got such a wonderful restaurant on our doorstep and have never visited before! Already looking forward to coming back.”

November 2018

Hubby’s find...excellent!

“We stayed here overnight before visiting Althorp House, which is just a short drive away. As another reviewer said, please don’t be put off by the location. This is a gem of a hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room (5) was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed. I think that’s the first time my husband has managed to have a good nights sleep in a hotel! Roomy ensuite. Tray of tea and coffee in room with good quality biscuits...and bottled water, which you don’t get in lots of hotels. There is a lovely ambience in the bar. we didn’t eat in the restaurant because there was a special event in there, so we sat in the bar area and ordered from the bar menu. the food was excellent - particularly the treacle tart with ginger ice cream....the best I’ve eaten anywhere..so light!! Good wine, too. My husband and I both highly recommend this hotel. We would have liked to stay longer!”

October 2018

Fantastic

“After a phone call explaining I had a seafood alergy we booked for lunch , three menus to choose from and a lovely wine list the two gentle men who served us were excellent as was the food highly recommend to any one”

October 2018

What a Wonderful find

“Had to book this quite late for Silverstone classic as had previous hotel booking cancelled at the last minute So glad thisbplace is just wonderful Staff couldn't be more helpful or welcoming Nothing was too much trouble The room was clean and comfortable The food in the restaurant was superb Enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked for another visit”

September 2018

One of the comfiest sleeps ever!

“I stay in a lot of hotels, for both work and pleasure, and can honestly say this was the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel! The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The only bad comment was we were only give one large towel to share between us. A beautiful full English breakfast, toast and endless drinks set us up for the day, and I couldn’t fault a thing. We didn’t eat in the restaurant in the evening, but wish we had because the food smelt delicious! We will definitely be stay here again!”

September 2018

Wonderful

“I visited The Hopping Hare with my husband and two children only a few weeks ago. When we first arrived we had an incorrect room but this was fixed so quickly and we greatly appreciated the effort gone to by the staff member. As it was summer, it was hot and a couple of fans were provided - thank you. The room itself was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast for the mornings we were there was just as tasty. Good variety but REALLY yummy, especially the eggs. Was a bit hard to wake up before 9am to get downstairs to make it in time for breakfast. Most importantly, my daughter left a recently purchased toy in the room and Emily was wonderful. She found the toy and posted it halfway around the world to us. I am so grateful to her and the staff for finding the toy. Would recommend this place in a heartbeat.”

August 2018

Nice rooms, great restaurant.

“We stayed here for one night before going on to Silverstone for a club race day. We initially chose here because of the decent parking facilities but when we saw online they had a nice restaurant and read some of the reviews we were sold. Our room was number 10 on the second floor, it was during the heatwave and it was hot but two fans had thoughtfully been provided. The room was clean and good value. The highlight of our stay was the restaurant, our dinner was superb, the quality of the cooking came as a real surprise (in a good way). My wife and I both had the crab to start and the lamb to follow accompanied by a half of white and a very nice bottle of Cotes du Rhone. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The clientele seemed very nice also. We would definitely stay here again.”

August 2018

Fantastic Food

“We stayed here, so ate here too. Can honestly say it was a fantastic meal. Steak cooked to perfection, chips are wonderful and the service is fantastic. We'll be back again if we are down that way!”

August 2018

Brilliant Staff, Brilliant Food

“Went to the Hopping Hare Gardens and was very impressed with their flavoursome Club Sandwich.... best ever ! Staff was very approachable - great team - Well Done. I have stayed here previously but this was just a catch up with a friend”

August 2018

Fantastic hotel & restaurant

“We stayed here after a night at Bletchley Park, before going to Silverstone Classic the next day. Restaurant - the evening meal was fantastic. Shared bread board to start, the steak was cooked to perfection and I loved my pudding too. Couldn't fault it at all. Our waitress was wonderful, friendly, chatty and energetic. We had a few drinks after and it was lovely. There were clearly locals coming in too, as well as us overnight guests and we were made to feel very friendly anyway. Breakfast was lovely, my only issue was I couldn't reach the second coffee jug after the first one ran out which was on top of the machine - but none of the guests seemed bothered to help me either. It's only my partner that drinks coffee, so fortunately he just had instant. Not even an issue, as I found it funny - but just an FYI maybe to staff to keep an eye on the coffee, or perhaps the guests that aren't vertically challenged to help us short people! Overall it was a wonderful stay, great location, great hosts, and if we were to do Silverstone again next year we'd definitely stay there again! ”

August 2018

Simply Amazing

“First visit last night.Lovely ambiance and friendly staff.Food choices outstanding.Tried to eat (and failed miserably) as slowly as possible to savour every morsel.Presentation of each course was outstanding.Stars of the show for me were " Three Little Pigs" and the "Coconut Panacotta".Informed that both Gregory and Grant were responsible for producing these amazing dishes....a credit to their skills,thank you. As an anniversary treat,couldn't have chosen anywhere better.HIGHLY recommend”

July 2018

Good hotel, very good food and great value for money.

“We stayed one night at the Hopping Hare and were very impressed. We were greeted on arrival, our room was a good size and had everything we needed. At £85.00 including Breakfast, (which was freshly cooked) great value. We also had dinner, which was excellent. The food really was good, an extensive choice and well priced. Highly recommended and we would stay there again if in the area.”

July 2018

Top notch friendly service!

“Our family of 8 from the US stayed here for 2 nights. We had set up a family reunion of sorts with the staff prior to arrival. The staff at this hotel was the best we encountered on our two week trip in the UK. They were very accommodating with our party of 20. The food was good. After dinner, we moved to a cozy lounge area and continued with bar service, coffees and visiting. It was a wonderful time for all. ”

June 2018

Impressed

“Very good food Very reasonable price Service excellent Flavours very good Everything cooked perfectly The bill came to less money than other local eatery for better quality food Well done !! Will I recommend and return ? Without a doubt !”

June 2018

Fabulous Fathers Day

“1st time here & was not disappointed. Lovely food & warm ambience. Staff were lovely even at their most busiest time. Thank you all for a lovely visit.”

June 2018