Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

Clean, comfortable and cozy

“What a lovely place to stay! We stayed at The Hopping Hare for two nights last weekend whilst in the area for a friends wedding and to say the least we were impressed. Prior to making our booking I made a couple of enquiries via email and the staff responding to these were great. Responses were timely and nothing felt like it was a bother. On arrival we needed a taxi booking for the following day and this was handled by staff without the blink of an eye. Our room was perhaps a little more compact than we expected (Room 16) but it was clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We dined in the restaurant on Friday night and the food was fantastic! Breakfast each morning was also just as delicious. Just as our email communications, staff were just as welcoming and friendly in person throughout our stay. Overall We couldn’t have asked for a better stay.”

May 2022

What a fabulous place

“We stayed the night and had dinner at the Hare and couldn't fault it for anything. We had room 9 which is a lovely king size double with bath and shower, much bigger than we expected. We were made very welcome and had an amazing meal in the restaurant where they handled extremely well the fact they had a birthday party to cater for as well. A very well run place and highly recommended.”

April 2022

Spotlessly clean

“Well priced spotless quality accommodation. Excellent breakfast choice. Staff most helpful and good communicators. Evening meal nicely done if a bit top end priced. Looks like it’s undergone a recent refurb since everything appears new. Will definitely stay again.”

April 2022

Winners dinner

“When you hear good reviews about a pub and hope to god it’s as good as they say, well this place lives up to the billing. Service was top draw, immediately informed that duck wasn’t on the menu just after we sat down. But the duo of beef was fantastic. Scotch egg as starter was lovely complimented by a lovely slaw, but the caramelised lemon tart was something else. This is a hidden gem. Won’t belong before I’m back. Thank you.”

April 2022

Fine Dining with super cleanliness

“Our party of 8 took 4 rooms for 2 nights, the arrival was warm and welcoming with all rooms well equipped and spotlessly clean. The bar is well stocked catering for all tastes, breakfast is comprehensive with something for everyone, freshly cooked and served to the table very quickly. The restaurant produces incredibly tasty meals with a great selection of choices, it provides a true fine dining experience. The icing on the cake has to be the cleanliness, every inch of the place has great attention to detail applied. No one in our party could find a single issue that wasn’t dealt with immediately, we look forward to returning in the very near future.”

April 2022

Northampton’s best!!!

“What an amazing find. Due to location we have driven past often but only now visited. This is undoubtedly the best restaurant in Northampton. The à La carte menu is varied with excellent balance of options all locally and transparently sourced. The food was excellent. Their ability to cook game perfectly is most welcome. The waitress told us she was new. It did not show. She had clearly been inducted and the other staff supported. They willingly accepted and adapted to our requests. Every single element was perfect. The food was clearly prepared by excellent chefs, perfectly prepared and well presented. The wine list was excellent and wines well served, the draft beer good and the cocktails as good as any cocktail bar. Even the ice cream and sorbet choice is worthy of special mention. All in all our new favourite!”

April 2022

A perfect 70th birthday celebration

“We three friends needed a hotel where we could celebrate the 70th birthday of one of our number, with an afternoon cup of tea, an evening meal, one night's stay and breakfast. The whole experience was beautifully managed and exceeded our expectations. Every member of staff was friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make things special. The rooms were very well appointed and very well supplied with snacks, hot drinks and all toiletries and even a bottle of drinking water. The radiators are individually adjustable and evey comfort is supplied. The evening meal was delicious and very well presented. We had a wonderful time and would certainly consider going back again.”

April 2022

One Night Stay

“After one night stay after a 4 hour journey from Spain, I had a fabulous stay. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and more important the staff gave fantastic service. Definitely will be back again”

March 2022

Lovely hotel

“What a fantastic hotel. The staff could not of been more helpful and friendly . Rosie was exceptionally professional and a credit to the hotel .The rooms where spotless and very spacious. Everything that you need is there. Would definitely book again”

March 2022

Great Place, super clean

“My Brother and I stopped here for one night on a way to a funeral. What a find. Not only a super clean room with great facilities but amazing good food as well. We had dinner in the restaurant and couldn't fault i or the serbice,. Even the bread was amazing. We couldn't fault the breakfast eithe, we enjoyed a full English and bacon and sausage brioche. If you are in the area definitely check this place out, you won't be disappointed.”

March 2022

Absolutely fantastic!

“An absolutely brilliant place to stay. We are trying to do a weekend break every 6 weeks or so since the pandemic restrictions are lifted. This one was fantastic. Staff amazing, so helpful and polite. Shout out to Janet on reception when we arrived. What a fantastic front of house ambassador. Food amazing we had dinner and breakfast. A very high standard of hygiene and cleanliness. Couldn't have asked for anything more. First class, even the note from the family owner in our room. We will definitely be back....”

March 2022

Cosy wheelchair accessible stay

“We stayed overnight on a Friday as two wheelchair users. The building could be accessed via a ramp at the front of the building, next to the disabled parking bay. In the bar there is a disabled toilet. They have an accessible room on the ground floor with a fully accessible bathroom/wet room. The bed was a reasonable height to enable transfer, with enough space to allow two wheelchair users to move around. We had a romantic and delicious dinner in the restaurant. The staff couldn't have been more attentive, friendly and welcoming. We had also had breakfast in the morning and they accommodated a late check out. We hope to come back soon, as we had such a pleasurable stay.”

March 2022

Lovely meal, great food and service

“Visited on a cold March evening. The restaurant was very busy but we weren't kept waiting we were met at the door by a lovely friendly waitress and taken to our table. Drinks were ordered and arrived quickly. The menu has lots of options, my husband had a starter of pulled pork scotch egg which was perfectly cooked with a runny yolk. We both had venison for mains which arrived beautifully presented and tasted really good. I could not fault it. I had a coconut panna cotta for dessert which was also beautifully presented and finished of the meal really nicely. All washed down with a bottle of red wine. We had a lovely evening and will definitely be back.”

March 2022

Weekend away

“This was a random B&B booking as it was close to an event we were attending on Saturday. What a find! Booked into the restaurant on Friday as it was our arrival night and just convenient - it was such a great experience we didn't bother looking for anywhere else on the Saturday. Such delicious food, well presented, friendly staff- couldn't fault it. Breakfast too was delicious and a great range of cooked options. Just sorry we don't live nearer as we'd be back in a heartbeat !!”

February 2022

Worth it for dinner

“We stayed here while our daughter played in a sports tournament, persuaded by the reviews of their restaurant. We were not disappointed. Dinner we was excellent. Beautifully presented, utterly delicious and interesting combinations. Venison from the nearby Althorp estate was a highlight. We did t make it to pudding but looked enviously upon other tables. The staff are very friendly and rooms comfortable. We will certainly be back.”

February 2022

Thank you

“Booked lunch to celebrate 20 years together. Excellent meal, lovely staff who went the extra mile to help us enjoy our visit with a few little touches. Not been here for a few years and rated it highly on previous visits but it has gone to a new level. We both had sirloin steaks for main course and can say amongst the best we’ve ever had.”

February 2022

Relaxing trip to see family

“Our room was really lovely and we were well looked after by Sarah and her team throughout our stay. The staff were all really friendly, the service was excellent and the quality of the food was exquisite! Can't wait to stay again and will be recommending it to friends and family”

February 2022

Overnight weekend stay

“My partner and I stayed over for one night at weekend. It was such a wonderful experience at a great price. The room was spacious warm immaculately clean and comfy bed. We booked for dinner in the restaurant and food was gorgeous. Breakfast was included in the room and again another delicious meal. Couldn't fault it at all and looking forward to returning. Thank you”

February 2022

Great Hotel and Restaurant

“We were in the area for the Northampton V Salford City football match. We stayed over one night and also ate in the restaurant on Sat night. Everything was fantastic. The room was clean and big enough for the family. The location was great as near to the stadium. Food was lovely and kids menu too. We would stay here again 👍🏻”

February 2022

Hopping Hare

“Found the hotel excellent The staff were amazing and very polite and helpful. The food was fantastic and cooked to perfection. Would recommend to anybody. Will definitely book there again when going back up that way. Ideal location and easy to find. Rooms a good size we had bath and shower in our room.”

February 2022