Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

Delicious

“We visited the Hopping Hare for an early evening meal with family and friends on a recommendation. We were certainly glad we did. The staff were friendly, the restaurant itself is decorated and furnished to a high standard, whilst remaining warm and welcoming, and the food? Delicious. We all enjoyed everything we had, including the kids. Portion sizes were just right and of a reasonable price. And just FYI, the Snickers dessert needs to be tried to be believed. Wow!”

May 2019

Excellent

“Went there for lunch one Sunday. Family of 5 - 4 adults and 1 child. The service was excellent, very attentive without being intrusive. The menu gave a good choice of dishes. The quality and quantity was excellent - we left the table full! Prices, including drinks, was reasonable and in line with the quality.”

May 2019

Fantastic Food

“My wife and I stayed for 1 night in April and we found the hotel to be very comfortable with a nice welcome. The atmosphere is calm and inviting. However the food was fantastic. Clearly a hidden gem in Northampton the chef should be commended. All 3 courses were interesting and delicious. The fish dishes especially. Staff were always helpful too. Would definitely stay again”

May 2019

Delicious

“We visited the Hopping Hare for an early evening meal with family and friends on a recommendation. We were certainly glad we did. The staff were friendly, the restaurant itself is decorated and furnished to a high standard, whilst remaining warm and welcoming, and the food? Delicious. We all enjoyed everything we had, including the kids. Portion sizes were just right and of a reasonable price. And just FYI, the Snickers dessert needs to be tried to be believed. Wow!”

April 2019

Afternoon Tea - What a Treat!

“As a big fan of afternoon tea I was excited to hear that The Hopping Hare had started doing it. It is a lovely drive for us, so decided to make an afternoon of it with the family. We weren’t disappointed, all of the staff are so helpful and food was delicious. There was a good range of tea so we all tried something different. The sandwiches were all so tasty with ample filling and different types of bread, and the sausage roll was devine. There was a lovely selection of cakes, which were better than any I’ve tasted before. They were beautifully presented and looked almost too good to eat! The home made scones were perfect and we had ample jam and fresh cream to go round. It was all topped off with pink bubbles which made for an extra special treat. We had a wonderful afternoon with the family. Despite our best attempts we didn’t manage to finish all the cake, so were provided with containers to take some treats home. Thanks to The Hopping Hare for making everything perfect, we shall be back!!”

April 2019

Excellent Stay and Fab Meal for Large Party

“We stayed here recently over the weekend and the stay was wonderful! Breakfast is absolutely delicious and they cater superbly for vegetarians. The staff are so welcoming and very hard working! Props to the gentleman behind the bar he worked incredibly hard all weekend. We ate in the restaurant also with a big party of 20 and the food was incredible. High quality and we had to issues whatsoever. They turned so many tables away that night so I would definitely book if you would like to go. Highly recommend.”

April 2019

MRS F.

“What a find. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is incredible. Luxury at affordable prices. Well worth a stay. Will definitely recommend it to friends and family.”

March 2019

Lunch

“I dont mind there - “find a table and order at the bar” places but if you want really good table service, a great lunch menu and a relaxing surrounding - go to the Hopping Hare in Northampton - the food is amazing with very friendly staff - definitely recommend this place - it also has plenty of parking :) ”

February 2019

Fantastic!

“Some of the best food Ive ever tasted, quirky dishes, beautifully presented, and flavours one cannot forget, see you again soon!”

February 2019

Nice Little Find!

“Stopped unplanned on a road trip for the evening and decided to dine. Had not booked but after a short wait they had a table for us. The menu sold us for dinner with interesting flavour combo’s. Went for the Beef with beef fat crumble and the Hake cooked in marmite butter. Well presented and great flavours. Shared the Chef’s Snicker for dessert which was a delight. Service was quick and not in your face which I liked. Will defiantly be planning another road trip soon!”

February 2019

Twice in a week!

“This might be one of my new favourite places. Everything cooked beautifully which as a chef is nice to go somewhere and just eat. The restaurant was busy and staff still attentive. Good choice of wines too.”

February 2019

Delicious Sunday evening meal

“Good value for a stylish meal. Modern decor and lighting. Well presented meal, delightful staff. Will come again.”

February 2019

Fabulous

“Had a wonderful meal at the Hopping Hare last night I had fillet of beef and cheeks and my partner had the hake fillet both cooked to perfection would definitely reccomend”

February 2019

Family meal/birthday

“I have been to the Hopping Hare many times over the last year, but this evening I met my family there for their first Hopping Hare meal. I noted tonight there was a new menu, which gave us lots of choice, so much choice it took a while to decide. Food was lovely, really flavoursome, hot, fresh with great service. I sense a change in Chef???? As pre Christmas food was becoming ?......a little bit errrrrm boring? HOWEVER tonight......fab food, refreshed menu - woop de woo. The service was attentive, without being intrusive and as always the ambiance suited. My families are real foodies & said they would be prepared to travel......a fair 50 min drive, to eat there again. Believe me, that is praise indeed!”

February 2019

A group of six (family and friends) overnight stay b and b after attending family funeral.

“After our return from the funeral everyone decided to freshen up and then meet in the bar for a few drinks. The selection of drinks was excellent and the service of the staff on duty during the evening could not be faulted.All bedrooms were found to be very clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu choice was very good and my choice of the "Full English" could not have been bettered. Even as we settled our accounts before we left the hotel, the morning staff who we had not previously met were just as friendly as their colleagues. We were all impressed with everything the "Hopping Hare" had to offer.”

February 2019

Sunday Lunch

“Visited this Sunday first time for about 2 years why we have left it so long excellent Sunday lunch two courses for £20 or three for £25 will definitely be returning”

January 2019

Pick of hotels in Northampton

“This hotel/pub/restaurant benefits hugely from NOT being a chain - so you feel you are getting a far more individual take on hospitality and service. If you don't need to be in the centre of town, this would be my pick of hotels in Northampton. I have stayed several times over the last 2 years - with a relatively small number of rooms, it's often fully booked in the week. Rooms have all been comfortable, clean and well-equipped. Being a popular pub/restaurant, it can be a little noisy in the evenings so requesting a room on the upper floors would be my recommendation. Breakfast is cooked to order (much better than a picked-over buffet) and the restaurant offers good food, fairly priced. You will need to get in your car/take a cab to eat anywhere else.”

January 2019

Beautiful fresh food sublimely prepared

“Dinner and breakfast served with polite friendly professionalism, sublime in cooking and presentation of the food. We left the table each time fully replete and having enjoyed each unrushed meal”

November 2018

Safe and Seated

“I need a disabled access and accessible room plus wet room ... all three present and available without fuss. I felt safe. The bedroom was large, spacious, comfortable and well-thought out. The wet room was fantastic and spacious with grab handles everywhere. The room was completely well appointed. It was the best hotel/restaurant that I have stayed at as a guest in the UK. The restaurant was fully booked, a large party was celebrating with Sunday lunch. We sat by the fire and talked. My brother and his wife joined us. The happy birthday group drifted away talking of the beautiful meal they had eaten. We were shown to our table and our expectations were heightened. We were not mistaken ... although some dishes had been sold out ...the remaining dishes pleased us all, the freshness, clarity and thought in the preparation was beautiful, the eating fabulous, the portions were ample. We were the noisy table, including the friendly staff in the banter. We apologised for the joyful meal. We chose four different dishes off the menu at each course; it was a wonderful evening with no dissension, much laughter and fantastic food. We all slept well, had breakfast which was fresh, clean tasting, plentiful and filling. We left went to inter my Mothers ashes. The staff at The Hopping Hare were all helpful and did not intrude or hover. In our difficult personal circumstances, the service was exemplary ... when visiting my Aunt and Uncle we shall book in again and again! As a teenager I used to socialise and drink in The Hopping Hill ...how it has changed!”

November 2018

2nd visit

“We choose here again as a spur of the moment and didnt book ,we came at lunch yet again,as a person with a severe fish allergy Im careful and as a executive head chef and a chef of the year finalist (many years ago in fact my ex head chef won it),the menu is small but for a reason we had the bread to start ,very nice ,the mains beautifully plated and hot not a massive plate full but you go for the experience Im sure you will get your third rosette ,see you again soon and many thanks to your chefs and your front of house team”

November 2018