Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

Fabulous Place

“This is truly a prime example of exceptional food and service. Our waiter was so professional and helpful I actually said to him that his service was outstanding. We had Sunday lunch and it was mouthwatering. Highly recommend.”

February 2020

Nice overnight stay

“Stayed overnight in a room on the first floor at the front and found it to be a cosy and comfortable with everything needed including a comfy bed, good bed linen, fluffy towels and complimentary water. Booked a meal in the restaurant on the evening we had the Pork and the Sea bass which was tasty, the service was also good. The following morning we had breakfast included in the room rate which was excellent, you could help yourself to coffee/juice and cereal and then order anything you wanted from a menu, well presented and good service. Overall it was excellent value for money”

February 2020

Fine dining an a bit of style without the price

“Excellent venue. Relaxed pleasant atmosphere with superb food at really affordable prices. If you wish for an even more relaxed atmosphere then there is the bar area restaurant. The staff are all very welcoming and knowledgable. For all the above reasons we remain regular customers”

January 2020

Fresh & Delicious

“Really enjoyed ! Freshly cooked and child friendly. Nice atmosphere. First time and I would comeagain visit again”

January 2020

Lunchtime Visit

“Another great meal at one of our favourite restaurants in Northampton. The staff are welcoming and knowledgable and provide an excellent service. We can’t fault the menu having tried a range of their starters, mains and desserts. Definitely going back again soon!”

January 2020

Great food

“We stopped off at the hopping hare for lunch on the strength of the trip advisor reviews, they were spot on! 5 star food in a first class pub, we had smoked salmon & prawn open sandwich on beetroot bread, Would highly recommend. We will definitely return if in the area again”

December 2019

Our first visit.

“We visited with 2 friends on Sat 7/12/19 and as soon as we walked in the atmosphere felt good, staff at the bar very friendly and helpful. We then went into the restaurant for our meal, we all chose to eat from the festive menu and each of us thoroughly enjoyed every course. The food was lovely and the main courses were really hot when served. The service was excellent and the staff attentive and friendly. Well done ! we will be back”

December 2019

Supurb!

“Booked here to meet friends as it was half way between us and them, and so glad we did! Lovely comfortable modern rooms,with a huge bed, and excellent breakfast. We also had a meal in the hotel restaurant, which was lovely. Great choice of quality food, and great service considering how busy they were. Highly recommend!”

November 2019

Exceptional!

“Arrived early but no problem to the waitresd.. Once seated chose lovely wine and starters...pork belly oh my anazing...the mushroom and blue cheese tart..also amaze balls. Quality and presentation just spot on...clean plates all round Main of pork loin...yum to the extreme...duck breast..just tasty to the ultimate Pudding...share the lemon tart with mango sorbet....what a great tasting pud...like lemon merangue with a sorbet that is so Ronseal....loved the whole evening.. Very special Words just not enough.. Full and content Thank you to all.....”

November 2019

Return Visit

“Had the most delicious meal here last night - staff were on the ball BUT - I don't know who the chef was for our different choices - it was ALL absolutely cooked to perfection, the presentation was top notch and we will be back, very soon! Well done to all.”

November 2019

Long Term Business

“This is a small family run business where I stayed over a 20 month period whilst working in the area, making and changing reservations frequently which were kindly sorted by the staff. The owners and staff are all very friendly and efficient, both with the rooms and the restaurant / bar. Food is excellent - far better quality than the average pub and with a wide range of choices - and the atmosphere is always good. Excellent for a summer visit when the outside is opened up and you can enjoy the food, drink and company in some welcome sunshine. In the winter there is a real fire to coy up to. Overall I wouldn't pick anywhere else to stay in Northampton - it's just too good!”

November 2019

Excellent on all levels

“Just returned from an impromptu dinner that was excellent on all levels! Service 100% attentive. Menu choices suited all preferences. My husband who is not a ‘roast dinner’ fan was swayed by the Treacle coated sirloin of beef which he said was absolutely delicious. Lamb loin and Roast Pork choices equally tasty and all beautifully presented with perfectly cooked seasonal veggies. Couldn’t resist the desserts either and my personal favourite was actually vegan. Dark chocolate delice Griottine cherries & kirch with a berry sorbet. Poached pears and a white chocolate delice with a raspberry sorbet.. so scummy. Cannot fault a thing, Compliments to the chef and front of house. Thank you and we will be back!”

November 2019

Sunday Lunch

“This is a very smart inn and hotel with a great atmosphere and well designed. We had a table for Sunday lunch and the food was excellent together with very friendly efficient service. The whole restaurant is very smartly laid out as I’d the rest of the establishment. It is very much fine dining as it is not cheap, but still very enjoyable. We stayed for 4 hours which seemed to pass in a flash and there was no pressure to leave. The table service was excellent and the quality of the food and presentation was excellent”

November 2019

Comfortable stay, good food

“We had an overnight stay for a wedding the following day. It’s a very comfortable pub, lots of sofas and armchairs to relax in - we arrived about 4.30 and check in was quick & efficient. Our room had a desk with tea & coffee making facilities, comfortable double bed, armchair, wardrobe with ironing board, iron, hairdryer, spacious en-suite complete with shampoo/ shower gel/moisturiser. We had booked a table for dinner at 7.30 but were allowed to eat earlier. I had the fixed price menu - a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains & 2 desserts - I think it was £18.50 for 2 courses & I had butternut squash soup, followed by Turbot with mussels on a bed of lentils, delicious. Hubby had the a la carte - pigeon, followed by pork loin & pork belly, again very good. The service was excellent, friendly & knowledgeable. Couldn’t fault it. Breakfast was also very good (other than the filter coffee). Help yourself to tea/coffee/juice & cereals, followed by about 6 cooked options. The bacon was particularly tasty. We very much appreciated being granted a late check-out, as the wedding wasn’t until later, so after breakfast had a relaxing hour or so catching up on the newspapers before getting ready. Overall, a very nice stay & would return.”

November 2019

Excellent staff great food - nice rooms

“Really nice Hotel with a great restaurant / staff lovely - nice rooms - just be careful not to book a room with too many stairs! Well worth a visit - really a hidden gem - don’t miss the cocktails hour(s) gray value”

November 2019

Overnight stay

“We went here for one night to meet with family. The place looked very welcoming and the staff were very friendly. Our room was lovely, a good size, very clean with a comfortable bed. It had opening windows which is always nice to have. We met with family and ate in the hotel restaurant. The menu choice was great as was the food. After a good nights sleep, we had breakfast there and it was very good, waitress service with a good choice. We will most DEFINITELY book it again on our next visit there to meet up with our family.”

November 2019

Excellent Location And Helpful and Kind Staff

“i booked this hotel over 12 months ago for my sister and partner wedding we booked the executive apartment which was worth the money and lovley for there honeymoon the staff where all excellent and kind and helpful...Myself and mine husband booked later on Wednesday as we had a bad experience with another hotel and this hotel made up for it as we loved the place I room was out of this world a king size bed and the breakfast in the morning was lovley thank you Hopping Hare for great stay 5 *****”

November 2019

A lovely hotel/gastro pub

“We stayed here for two nights as we were visiting local attractions. Check in was quick and the staff friendly. Our room was at the back of the hotel and quiet and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was nice with fluffy white towels and good quality toiletries. We ate in the hotel and the food was excellent and hot and although not an extensive menu there were plenty of choices and the food was beautifully cooked and very well presented. Breakfast was plentiful and good orange juice and quality coffee. A very pleasant stay and we wouldnt hesitate to return.”

November 2019

Outstanding Food

“Our second visit.....thought it was outstanding then, just as good this time. I haven't found a better restaurant in Northamptonshire,. The food is wonderful and presentation excellent. Service very good and friendly too. Had the set menu this time, good choices and both courses excellent.”

October 2019

A fantastic break

“We were really impressed with the good service and comfortable rooms here. The staff were really friendly and accommodating and i felt that it was good value for money. There was a lovely atmosphere in the bar, plenty of parking space and the room was lovely and quiet in the evening with a very comfortable bed!”

October 2019