Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

The hopping hare Northampton

“What an amazing hotel experience. This hotel has it all. An absolutely beautiful hotel, gorgeous comfortable beds, and an absolutely stunning dining room and bar. The owners have clearly taken time to make this a memorable stay, the staff are so helpful friendly and welcoming. The whole hotel is to the highest standard of cleanliness and the food and whole dining experience was the best we had ever had. All 4 courses were exquisite, fresh and perfectly delicious. Breakfast was included and was delicious. Staff did everything possible to make sure we were happy, even helping us out when my husbands van wouldn't start, and giving us a cup of tea for the road! An amazing memorable experience, thank you so much”

August 2021

Fabulous Stay

“A fabulous stay from start to finish. All the staff are friendly & efficient & nothing was too much trouble. The room was great and we heard no noise at all which is always a bonus considering it is a pub & restaurant. We dined in the restaurant & the food & staff were amazing. It was a very busy night but the service was great & the food exceptional. Breakfast was great & once again the staff were efficient & very friendly. Thank you to everyone at The Hopping Hare for making our weekend very special will most definitely will be back.”

August 2021

Fab hotel & great staff

“The hotel is beautifully decorated & clean. The food and selection of drinks was very good. The staff are so friendly & helpful. An all round excellent hotel to stay in. Thank you The Hopping Hare. See you next year x”

July 2021

Lovely Stay

“We stayed at The Hopping Hare for one night on our way back to Yorkshire. Quick and efficient check in then up to our room. So relieved that a fan had been put in the room and was already on as it was so hot. We dined in the restaurant and everything was lovely. I had the salmon which was perfectly cooked.Breakfast was great too. We both work in the hospitality industry and can be slightly on the critical side sometimes but nothing to criticise here. I do want to mention Sarah though, she checked us in, served us our dinner, kept our water in the fridge and was very pleasant and an asset to the hotel. Will definitely recommend”

July 2021

Great place to eat

“Having been to this restaurant twice before it was a no brainer on deciding where to treat ourselves. From the polite and friendly staff to the quality service. The food was well cooked, great portions , looked amazing . The waiter was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. All in all a great place for a great meal experience”

June 2021

Ill have the Lion (well done)

“All three courses cooked to absolute perfection. They obviously have a very good chef. I have eaten at M* restaurants that would struggle to match this, and their price would be five times this. We had a really good laugh with the staff too - particularly about there being lions on the menu (loin got autocorrected), and stabbing someone with the stake knife. All good fun, and in the best taste. This place is awesome and under valued.”

June 2021

Fab food - Highly reccomend

“We went for dinner last night and it was so good I had to write a review My boyfriend had the scotch egg which was amazing. I had the smoked salmon and I honestly have never tasted salmon quite like it. Beautiful. We both had the short beef rib and it just melted off the bone. Nothing was too much trouble. They bought extra gravy for my northern boyfriend and wrapped our bones to take home for our dog. We highly recommend and will be back soon!”

June 2021

Brilliant from the minute we walked in

“We stayed here for one night. Friendly check in, superb room, fantastic food and great selection of drinks. 10 out of 10. Amazing breakfast”

May 2021

Excellent Restaurant

“This was our first family oriented meal out since lockdown. Everything about our visit was just perfect. The beer, Black Sheep, the meals, and the wine, were all excellent, there wasn't a fault to be found. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and attentive. We'll be going again soon.”

May 2021

Lovely Lunch

“Great Lunch, food was hot and home cooked. My husbands Steak was cooked perfectly as he had requested which is so important when its the main part of his meal. The only thing which would have been improved it would be a side of onion rings and choice of a sauce like peppercorn perhaps? My fish and chips were lovely and the mushy peas were so fresh tasting with the hint of mint. We didn't try the deserts as we were full but the choice looked lovely. Staff were friendly and attentive from start to end. Overall a very nice, safe first trip out since lockdown.”

May 2021

Fabulous!

“Had to write another glowing review for my favourite Northampton restaurant. Visited last Thursday evening and from start to finish,everything was just lovely,difficult for sure in these Covid 19 times,but the Hopping Hare have got it right,faultless in all ways. Food,as always, was perfect in quality and presentation. Staff,both friendly and attentive.A good atmosphere on a fairly busy night,which was nice to see. Thank you for yet another wonderful dining experience.Happy Christmas and a better New Year to EVERYONE who makes this restaurant the special place to me that it is.xx”

December 2020

Excellent few days away for our Anniversary

“Chose this at random but couldnt be more pleased excellent service lovely food immaculate room 5 stars all the way Visited Canons Ashby NT and drove to Althorp although not open. Theres nothing more to say why TripAdvisor has this 200 character minimum I have no idea”

September 2020

Excellent night out

“My partner and I visited The Hopping Hare tonight with another couple. We were all absolutely blown away by the quality of the food, we all had 3 courses and every single course was impeccably presented and even tastier than it looked. The wine list was extensive with a huge variety of reds, whites and rosè. The bar had a great selection of premium lagers and real ales, and a complete set of flavours from the Warner Edwards gin range. The service was just incredible, as soon as you asked the waitress for something it was with you within a couple of minutes, the food was nothing less than absolutely delicious, fresh, hot and served with a smile (at least I think they were smiling through their mask), and as I mentioned earlier; immaculately and beautifully presented. Given the current pandemic we are in, it felt like nothing was too much to ask for. We all very much enjoyed our time here and will be back again very soon - thank you Hopping Hare staff, it was a pleasure to eat and drink in your pub this evening.”

September 2020

Family Visit

“Excellent - room on the small side but very impressed with how clean it was it was magazine clean. With lots of coffee, tea and hot chocolate available in room. Breakfast very nice toast, porridge orange juice etc brought to your table . Excellent Sunday lunch meal. Would definately return. Shout out to the waitress,s who are very polite and work very hard”

September 2020

Perfect Birthday celebration

“We arrived at lunchtime and shared the club sandwich which we loved. The chunky chips were delicious. And the feeling when we walked in was that this place is totally Covid secure - spaces our tables, sanitiser everywhere and the whole place seemed utterly spotless. Bedroom - spacious, v comfortable bed, well laid out and again utterly spotless. The best bit though was dinner. Friendly and prompt service and a menu that would have satisfied anyone. We went for .. Starters - Scotch egg (10/10 amazing) and hallumi salad (9/10 great combination of flavours) Mains - pan fried chicken breast with chorizo (10/10 amazing) and short rib of beef with the tastiest mashed potato I’ve ever had (9/10) Deserts - home made sticky toffee pudding (10/10 loved it) and cheese board (9/10) Wine list - extensive, we went for a Sauvignon with dinner, priced v fairly. We also enjoyed the various gins on offer. Service - prompt and friendly. Ambience - very nice, it was busy but again it felt very safe. Decor was kind of boutique hotel style, and so much more personal than a chain hotel. And finally - breakfast the next day didn’t disappoint. All freshly cooked to order, high quality bacon and sausages rather than the cheaper variety you sometimes get in hotels. It’s only £85 to stay here (20 bedrooms) and that includes breakfast. And the dinner menu was really well priced given the quality. Starters approx £7 and mains approx £15. Highly recommended”

September 2020

Wonderful staff

“we were a last minute booking due to a car breakdown. The staff were super helpful on booking and arrivals. The flat was a good size and perfect for a family. Sarah who was on duty in the morning was amazing. She made us feel very welcome and went out of her way to help us. Delicious breakfast too. Highly recommended”

September 2020

Great value

“Lovely bedroom, beautiful food and excellent service and all for a very reasonable price. We only stayed for one night but we'll definitely be back. Dinner was lovely. The scotch egg starter in particular is not to be missed. And the smoked salmon and scrambled egg breakfast lived up to the evening meal too. But best of all was the service in the restaurant, which was extremely efficient and very friendly.”

August 2020

Meeting family travelling through Northampton

“A great place for a leisurely and very tasty lunch - our family were travelling in a camper van RV, and the car park was easily able to take it. Staff were attentive and friendly, and the food was fresh, hot, tasty - all the good things you expect. Well managed in this strange world we are currently experiencing. Many thanks.”

August 2020

Sunday lunch after lockdown

“First Sunday lunch out since lockdown. All beautifully set out and organised. Felt very safe. Food great as always. Good to see the staff again. Thank you we had a lovely time.”

July 2020

Perfect Dining Experience

“We dined at The Hopping Hare on the night of reopening due to covid19 and we had the best dining experience. All the staff were super friendly and the food was delicious! Social distancing measures were in place to make everyone feel comfortable. Just want to say thank you to all the staff and special compliments to the chef!”

July 2020