Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

Great food

“We stopped off at the hopping hare for lunch on the strength of the trip advisor reviews, they were spot on! 5 star food in a first class pub, we had smoked salmon & prawn open sandwich on beetroot bread, Would highly recommend. We will definitely return if in the area again”

December 2019

Our first visit.

“We visited with 2 friends on Sat 7/12/19 and as soon as we walked in the atmosphere felt good, staff at the bar very friendly and helpful. We then went into the restaurant for our meal, we all chose to eat from the festive menu and each of us thoroughly enjoyed every course. The food was lovely and the main courses were really hot when served. The service was excellent and the staff attentive and friendly. Well done ! we will be back”

December 2019

Supurb!

“Booked here to meet friends as it was half way between us and them, and so glad we did! Lovely comfortable modern rooms,with a huge bed, and excellent breakfast. We also had a meal in the hotel restaurant, which was lovely. Great choice of quality food, and great service considering how busy they were. Highly recommend!”

November 2019

Exceptional!

“Arrived early but no problem to the waitresd.. Once seated chose lovely wine and starters...pork belly oh my anazing...the mushroom and blue cheese tart..also amaze balls. Quality and presentation just spot on...clean plates all round Main of pork loin...yum to the extreme...duck breast..just tasty to the ultimate Pudding...share the lemon tart with mango sorbet....what a great tasting pud...like lemon merangue with a sorbet that is so Ronseal....loved the whole evening.. Very special Words just not enough.. Full and content Thank you to all.....”

November 2019

Return Visit

“Had the most delicious meal here last night - staff were on the ball BUT - I don't know who the chef was for our different choices - it was ALL absolutely cooked to perfection, the presentation was top notch and we will be back, very soon! Well done to all.”

November 2019

Long Term Business

“This is a small family run business where I stayed over a 20 month period whilst working in the area, making and changing reservations frequently which were kindly sorted by the staff. The owners and staff are all very friendly and efficient, both with the rooms and the restaurant / bar. Food is excellent - far better quality than the average pub and with a wide range of choices - and the atmosphere is always good. Excellent for a summer visit when the outside is opened up and you can enjoy the food, drink and company in some welcome sunshine. In the winter there is a real fire to coy up to. Overall I wouldn't pick anywhere else to stay in Northampton - it's just too good!”

November 2019

Excellent on all levels

“Just returned from an impromptu dinner that was excellent on all levels! Service 100% attentive. Menu choices suited all preferences. My husband who is not a ‘roast dinner’ fan was swayed by the Treacle coated sirloin of beef which he said was absolutely delicious. Lamb loin and Roast Pork choices equally tasty and all beautifully presented with perfectly cooked seasonal veggies. Couldn’t resist the desserts either and my personal favourite was actually vegan. Dark chocolate delice Griottine cherries & kirch with a berry sorbet. Poached pears and a white chocolate delice with a raspberry sorbet.. so scummy. Cannot fault a thing, Compliments to the chef and front of house. Thank you and we will be back!”

November 2019

Sunday Lunch

“This is a very smart inn and hotel with a great atmosphere and well designed. We had a table for Sunday lunch and the food was excellent together with very friendly efficient service. The whole restaurant is very smartly laid out as I’d the rest of the establishment. It is very much fine dining as it is not cheap, but still very enjoyable. We stayed for 4 hours which seemed to pass in a flash and there was no pressure to leave. The table service was excellent and the quality of the food and presentation was excellent”

November 2019

Comfortable stay, good food

“We had an overnight stay for a wedding the following day. It’s a very comfortable pub, lots of sofas and armchairs to relax in - we arrived about 4.30 and check in was quick & efficient. Our room had a desk with tea & coffee making facilities, comfortable double bed, armchair, wardrobe with ironing board, iron, hairdryer, spacious en-suite complete with shampoo/ shower gel/moisturiser. We had booked a table for dinner at 7.30 but were allowed to eat earlier. I had the fixed price menu - a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains & 2 desserts - I think it was £18.50 for 2 courses & I had butternut squash soup, followed by Turbot with mussels on a bed of lentils, delicious. Hubby had the a la carte - pigeon, followed by pork loin & pork belly, again very good. The service was excellent, friendly & knowledgeable. Couldn’t fault it. Breakfast was also very good (other than the filter coffee). Help yourself to tea/coffee/juice & cereals, followed by about 6 cooked options. The bacon was particularly tasty. We very much appreciated being granted a late check-out, as the wedding wasn’t until later, so after breakfast had a relaxing hour or so catching up on the newspapers before getting ready. Overall, a very nice stay & would return.”

November 2019

Excellent staff great food - nice rooms

“Really nice Hotel with a great restaurant / staff lovely - nice rooms - just be careful not to book a room with too many stairs! Well worth a visit - really a hidden gem - don’t miss the cocktails hour(s) gray value”

November 2019

Overnight stay

“We went here for one night to meet with family. The place looked very welcoming and the staff were very friendly. Our room was lovely, a good size, very clean with a comfortable bed. It had opening windows which is always nice to have. We met with family and ate in the hotel restaurant. The menu choice was great as was the food. After a good nights sleep, we had breakfast there and it was very good, waitress service with a good choice. We will most DEFINITELY book it again on our next visit there to meet up with our family.”

November 2019

Excellent Location And Helpful and Kind Staff

“i booked this hotel over 12 months ago for my sister and partner wedding we booked the executive apartment which was worth the money and lovley for there honeymoon the staff where all excellent and kind and helpful...Myself and mine husband booked later on Wednesday as we had a bad experience with another hotel and this hotel made up for it as we loved the place I room was out of this world a king size bed and the breakfast in the morning was lovley thank you Hopping Hare for great stay 5 *****”

November 2019

A lovely hotel/gastro pub

“We stayed here for two nights as we were visiting local attractions. Check in was quick and the staff friendly. Our room was at the back of the hotel and quiet and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was nice with fluffy white towels and good quality toiletries. We ate in the hotel and the food was excellent and hot and although not an extensive menu there were plenty of choices and the food was beautifully cooked and very well presented. Breakfast was plentiful and good orange juice and quality coffee. A very pleasant stay and we wouldnt hesitate to return.”

November 2019

Outstanding Food

“Our second visit.....thought it was outstanding then, just as good this time. I haven't found a better restaurant in Northamptonshire,. The food is wonderful and presentation excellent. Service very good and friendly too. Had the set menu this time, good choices and both courses excellent.”

October 2019

A fantastic break

“We were really impressed with the good service and comfortable rooms here. The staff were really friendly and accommodating and i felt that it was good value for money. There was a lovely atmosphere in the bar, plenty of parking space and the room was lovely and quiet in the evening with a very comfortable bed!”

October 2019

50th Birthday Meal

“Booked a Sunday lunch for a family members 50th Birthday. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals and everyone had empty plates, we all had three courses and each course looked fantastic and tasted amazing. My belly of pork starter was delicate and very flavoursome, Sunday roast main was delicious and chocolate mousse dessert was a perfect end to a perfect meal. Can’t wait to go back and try the rest of the menu”

October 2019

Modern and stylish with fab food

“Modern and stylish boutique hotel, pub and restaurant. The food from breakfast, lunch and evening meal were all exceptional. Room was bright, contemporary, spotless and comfortable. The staff were friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Would definitely stay or eat here again.”

October 2019

faultless sunday lunch

“arrived to find the parking was huge which to start with is big bonus, inside the ambiance of the restaurant was lovely, no tables squashed together which makes a change, it was so relaxing as soon as you are seated.our waitress was delightful and we were asked if we wanted water and took our drink order.there was no rush to take our food order which is just as well as we just couldn't make our minds up on what to have.when we eventually made our minds up I decided on the chicken and pork terrine and my husband had the fish cake.both were beautifully presented and tasted delicious.the mains we chose the beef and pork and the only negative was the Yorkshire pudding was enormous much too much for us but everything on the plates I really couldn't fault.i was only disappointed that I couldn't manage a dessert but as its a no brainer on us returning I shall defiantly make sure I leave room”

October 2019

Truly Scrumptious

“Sunday lunch - very pleasant welcome - lovely restaurant, well spaced, not too noisy (you could carry on a conversation without having to shout to be heard) - very nice staff - food delivered quickly and efficiently - and we were genuinely surprised at how smart the presentation was - we cleared almost all of our plates over a delicious three courses - this was genuinely one of the best "pub restaurant" meals we've had - and not expensive. We will definitely be back.”

September 2019

Great spot to stay and/or eat

“My husband and I were looking for a place to stay near Althorp Estate. The place could not have been better. Henry greeted us, got us checked in and helped get our baggage up to our room. Room was quaint, clean and quiet. Food at the Hopping Hare was great as well. Would highly recommend staying there if you’re in the area.”

September 2019