Testimonials

Testimonials

Write a Restaurant Review Write a Hotel Review

What a fabulous place

“We stayed the night and had dinner at the Hare and couldn't fault it for anything. We had room 9 which is a lovely king size double with bath and shower, much bigger than we expected. We were made very welcome and had an amazing meal in the restaurant where they handled extremely well the fact they had a birthday party to cater for as well. A very well run place and highly recommended.”

July 2022

Eveningmeal

“We had a fabulous meal thus evening, beautifully presented and wonderful flavours would recommend it highly”

July 2022

Dinner for two

“We popped in for a meal on Saturday night. Never been before but definitely will return. Really nice environment. Stylish bar. Varied menu and drinks list. We had the bread and oil to share then the sirloin steak and the duo of beef. All the food was really tasty and plentiful with attentive staff. Highly recommend”

July 2022

Amazing from Start to Finish!

“Amazing food,amazing service...A perfect dining experience.Come here for every special occasion.A big thank you to the lovely Sarah for making my special request happen and also to the lovely Janet for executing it....You are both such assets to this establishment.Not forgetting the chef/kitchen team (often forgotten)....Food quality and presentation,beautiful.(You get what you pay for) Keep doing what you do so well. A very happy customer for sure ❤️.”

July 2022

Fabulous hotel and the food is amazing

“We stayed here for one night as we were going to see a comedian in the city. We were blown away by the cost, for the big room and bathroom, with a separate shower, nice decor, such good value including a cooked breakfast. The food was out of this world, they have a separate gluten free, diary free and vegan menus and delicious wine. Again really reasonable cost. I wished we lived nearer as this would somewhere we’d visit often. Staff were helpful too.”

July 2022

Evening meal

“We had a fabulous meal thus evening, beautifully presented and wonderful flavours would recommend it highly”

July 2022

Two night stay with really excellent food

“A handsome building in a suburban location - this is not a country pub. But that is only carping. The welcome was warm, the staff were agreeable and very professional. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The cooking was really excellent: we dined twice and had great meals. There is an emphasis on locally sourced ingredients and it shows. ”

June 2022

Clean, comfortable and cozy

“What a lovely place to stay! We stayed at The Hopping Hare for two nights last weekend whilst in the area for a friends wedding and to say the least we were impressed. Prior to making our booking I made a couple of enquiries via email and the staff responding to these were great. Responses were timely and nothing felt like it was a bother. On arrival we needed a taxi booking for the following day and this was handled by staff without the blink of an eye. Our room was perhaps a little more compact than we expected (Room 16) but it was clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We dined in the restaurant on Friday night and the food was fantastic! Breakfast each morning was also just as delicious. Just as our email communications, staff were just as welcoming and friendly in person throughout our stay. Overall We couldn’t have asked for a better stay.”

May 2022

What a fabulous place

“We stayed the night and had dinner at the Hare and couldn't fault it for anything. We had room 9 which is a lovely king size double with bath and shower, much bigger than we expected. We were made very welcome and had an amazing meal in the restaurant where they handled extremely well the fact they had a birthday party to cater for as well. A very well run place and highly recommended.”

April 2022

Spotlessly clean

“Well priced spotless quality accommodation. Excellent breakfast choice. Staff most helpful and good communicators. Evening meal nicely done if a bit top end priced. Looks like it’s undergone a recent refurb since everything appears new. Will definitely stay again.”

April 2022

Winners dinner

“When you hear good reviews about a pub and hope to god it’s as good as they say, well this place lives up to the billing. Service was top draw, immediately informed that duck wasn’t on the menu just after we sat down. But the duo of beef was fantastic. Scotch egg as starter was lovely complimented by a lovely slaw, but the caramelised lemon tart was something else. This is a hidden gem. Won’t belong before I’m back. Thank you.”

April 2022

Fine Dining with super cleanliness

“Our party of 8 took 4 rooms for 2 nights, the arrival was warm and welcoming with all rooms well equipped and spotlessly clean. The bar is well stocked catering for all tastes, breakfast is comprehensive with something for everyone, freshly cooked and served to the table very quickly. The restaurant produces incredibly tasty meals with a great selection of choices, it provides a true fine dining experience. The icing on the cake has to be the cleanliness, every inch of the place has great attention to detail applied. No one in our party could find a single issue that wasn’t dealt with immediately, we look forward to returning in the very near future.”

April 2022

Northampton’s best!!!

“What an amazing find. Due to location we have driven past often but only now visited. This is undoubtedly the best restaurant in Northampton. The à La carte menu is varied with excellent balance of options all locally and transparently sourced. The food was excellent. Their ability to cook game perfectly is most welcome. The waitress told us she was new. It did not show. She had clearly been inducted and the other staff supported. They willingly accepted and adapted to our requests. Every single element was perfect. The food was clearly prepared by excellent chefs, perfectly prepared and well presented. The wine list was excellent and wines well served, the draft beer good and the cocktails as good as any cocktail bar. Even the ice cream and sorbet choice is worthy of special mention. All in all our new favourite!”

April 2022

A perfect 70th birthday celebration

“We three friends needed a hotel where we could celebrate the 70th birthday of one of our number, with an afternoon cup of tea, an evening meal, one night's stay and breakfast. The whole experience was beautifully managed and exceeded our expectations. Every member of staff was friendly and willing to go the extra mile to make things special. The rooms were very well appointed and very well supplied with snacks, hot drinks and all toiletries and even a bottle of drinking water. The radiators are individually adjustable and evey comfort is supplied. The evening meal was delicious and very well presented. We had a wonderful time and would certainly consider going back again.”

April 2022

One Night Stay

“After one night stay after a 4 hour journey from Spain, I had a fabulous stay. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and more important the staff gave fantastic service. Definitely will be back again”

March 2022

Lovely hotel

“What a fantastic hotel. The staff could not of been more helpful and friendly . Rosie was exceptionally professional and a credit to the hotel .The rooms where spotless and very spacious. Everything that you need is there. Would definitely book again”

March 2022

Great Place, super clean

“My Brother and I stopped here for one night on a way to a funeral. What a find. Not only a super clean room with great facilities but amazing good food as well. We had dinner in the restaurant and couldn't fault i or the serbice,. Even the bread was amazing. We couldn't fault the breakfast eithe, we enjoyed a full English and bacon and sausage brioche. If you are in the area definitely check this place out, you won't be disappointed.”

March 2022

Absolutely fantastic!

“An absolutely brilliant place to stay. We are trying to do a weekend break every 6 weeks or so since the pandemic restrictions are lifted. This one was fantastic. Staff amazing, so helpful and polite. Shout out to Janet on reception when we arrived. What a fantastic front of house ambassador. Food amazing we had dinner and breakfast. A very high standard of hygiene and cleanliness. Couldn't have asked for anything more. First class, even the note from the family owner in our room. We will definitely be back....”

March 2022

Cosy wheelchair accessible stay

“We stayed overnight on a Friday as two wheelchair users. The building could be accessed via a ramp at the front of the building, next to the disabled parking bay. In the bar there is a disabled toilet. They have an accessible room on the ground floor with a fully accessible bathroom/wet room. The bed was a reasonable height to enable transfer, with enough space to allow two wheelchair users to move around. We had a romantic and delicious dinner in the restaurant. The staff couldn't have been more attentive, friendly and welcoming. We had also had breakfast in the morning and they accommodated a late check out. We hope to come back soon, as we had such a pleasurable stay.”

March 2022

Lovely meal, great food and service

“Visited on a cold March evening. The restaurant was very busy but we weren't kept waiting we were met at the door by a lovely friendly waitress and taken to our table. Drinks were ordered and arrived quickly. The menu has lots of options, my husband had a starter of pulled pork scotch egg which was perfectly cooked with a runny yolk. We both had venison for mains which arrived beautifully presented and tasted really good. I could not fault it. I had a coconut panna cotta for dessert which was also beautifully presented and finished of the meal really nicely. All washed down with a bottle of red wine. We had a lovely evening and will definitely be back.”

March 2022